Matsumoto Castle and Town

Sat in the car, I can’t help but feel painfully Japanese, as I tuck into my tuna mayo onigiri (a rice ball with a seaweed shell), whilst watching NHK news on my car’s TV.

Matsumoto is about 1hr and 30mins south of Nagano City by car, and is famed for it’s castle built in 1504:

Matsumoto Castle

There is snow on the ground. I dodge past children that throw snowballs on a bridge that steeply rises over the waters of the vast moat, from which, reflects a blinding sunlight. Being out of tourist season, I’m stirred by the quietness.

Walking past a large, light gravel graveyard clearing, and the entrance to the castle keep, I round the corner to take the above picture- all along the winter waters edge, are a series of neat winding paths, marked by white ropelines; an old man sits in a heavy jacket, his left leg over his right.

A single white swan cuts through the stillness.

I pass two laughing women dressed in traditional attire; one dark blue and white, the other, in a green and orange- they wear black sandals and white socks.

At the foot of the red bridge, a group of photographers fuss over a couple.

The man in a silken, white yukatta; the woman, in a kimono with floral patterns; three light green flowers sit within her hair.

Matsumoto Castle Entrance

The ticket for entry to the castle grounds, as well as into the castle, is a mere, 610 yen! If you are a bagpacker, then you can’t take in your rucksack, though conveniently they do have a number of locks.

A pair of actors walk the castle grounds who are happy to have your photo taken with them

I hand my ticket in at the castle entrance, and take my shoes off, as is custom when visiting older buildings and Japan, and more often than not, in many public buildings, such as schools and sports centres!

But my God!

Take this as a warning. If you visit, Matsumoto in winter, make sure you wear thick socks!

Volunteers are spread throughout the castle’s six floors to kindly guide you up and down the flights, of very steep wooden stairs.

Walking within the white walls, and light wooden beams, I was excited to find a samurai gun museum on the 2nd floor!

The Samurai Gun Museum

The view from the top, particularly with the stillness of the day, and dustings of snow on the Alps in the distance, made me feel really humbled.

The view from Matsumoto castle

On the way down, I was treat to the castle’s “Moon viewing wing”, where by three of the walls have opened slatts, one of which, leads to a vermillion veranda.

Nakamachi Craft Town

About 10 minutes walk from the castle, two market streets, Nakamachi, and Nawate, line either side of the river. Tiny coffee shops selling delicate desserts, and craft shops filled with beautiful ceramics. I cannot recommend visiting enough!

Nakamachi craft town
The place to be seen for any scale enthustiasts.
Nawate Street
This samurai frog pays hommage to the loud croacks that Nawate Street became famed for.

Leave a comment