Day 3, Ueno and Asakusa- Part 1

The day started as per usual: being tired from jet lag and the shower talking to me…

…until I called it a bastard and it started firing laser beams at me.

It doesn’t take long to notice that everything in Japan has a button. I have three separate controls for my room: air con, tv and the lights. Suffice to say, the ‘internet of things’ has been here a while.

Yet this is all irrelevant when you cannot understand Kanji (chinese characters)- it took me a  good 15 minutes to work the shower.

I pressed a button to run the bath…’onegaishimasu’…pleaded the shower, telling me to stop as water gushed from one of it’s many orifices.

I proceeded to close this iron maiden of torture by pressing a second button- a rather violent gurgling sound emerged from the floor…’onegaishimasu!’, it pleaded desperately this time;  the shower sounded breathless, as if it was about to draw it’s final breath.

Time slowed as my finger hovered over the third button. A bead of sweat dripped off of my brow. The shower mumbled something in Japanese but it was too late-

Truth be told, the shower did actually say onegaishimasu (please). Yet what was more unnerving  was that my host could control the bathroom’s many electrical functions from the Kitchen. I still can’t quite get my head around that.

Later this morning  (I don’t plan to head out about before 10:00am, after all, I am on holiday), I headed East towards to Nishiguchi-Shinjuku underground station, next to the parked Soviet interplanetary warship you saw in the previous post. It was extremely windy because of the back end of Typhoon Noul,which has devastated the Philippines, hitting Tokyo, adding to the humidity.

Before reaching the station, I popped into a local 7/11 convenience store to grab a bento box (lunchbox with rice, vegetables) and snacks for the day. 7/11 have cornered the market here in Tokyo and can be likened to Greggs and their high street hegemony  anywhere North of Leicester. (It’s an interesting thought that a proxy of the North/ South divide can be found in the Pret-Greggs Paradigm.)

They’re everywhere.

IMAG0074
Not bad for £3.00. Chicken, onion, salad leaves, rice and a pickle-like sauce. It came with a set of ohashi (chop sticks)-practice doesn’t make perfect in my case

Food shopping in Japan is quickly becoming my favourite past time- it’s the danger element I like about it:

japanese-toilet-candy-2
Candy or cleaning product?

Stocked up on god knows what,  I headed for the Tokyo National Museum in Ueno Park.

Leave a Reply

